Covid - 19 : Together against the virus

The LFC health service is made up of 2 nurses (one for the secondary, and another on the 3 primary sites) and a school doctor (on all sites).

 

During these difficult times, we must stand together against the virus.

 

The most common signs are cough and fever, but other signs may also be present: sudden loss of taste or smell, headache, severe fatigue, body aches, chest pain, shortness of breath, diarrhea... or other signs noticed by people around you.

 

If one or more of these symptoms appear, you should call your doctor immediately.

 

On a daily basis, there are simple barrier gestures to adopt to protect yourself and others:

  • wash your hands regularly or use a hydro-alcoholic solution;

  • cough or sneeze into your elbow or into a single-use tissue;

  • blow your nose in a handkerchief then throw it away;

  • avoid touching your face;

  • respect a distance of 1 to 2 meters with others;

  • greet without shaking hands and stop kissing;

  • wear a mask;

  • limit contact with others as much as possible (6 people maximum);

  • aerate each room as often as possible, at least a few minutes every hour.

We invite families to be very vigilant about the festive gatherings of students during this year, which can be organized in a private setting.

 

If these convivial moments, usually organized at the beginning or during the school year, contribute to the consolidation of social ties between students, it has also been proven that they are important vectors for the spread of Covid - 19.

 

We are counting on the help of all the parents, in order to be vigilant and to avoid the appearance of sources of contamination which would have immediate consequences on the functioning of the school. The health situation is under control thanks to the identification and traceability protocols implemented in the establishment.

In terms of health, the LFC follows the French protocol, but also always having a look at the local context in Egypt.

Regarding the management of contaminated cases, according to the administration, the first source of alert remains the information which is directly given by the families on the health situations.

 

As soon as the school has the information, it begins to identify " the health window "; which means the period of presence of an infected pupil inside the establishment (the perimeter of investigation), then the school proceeds to an investigation to assess the risks and identify contact cases. Finally, the administration informs teachers to enable them to monitor students placed in isolation.

 

When there is a case of contamination in a class (or the same group), parents should know that the LFC must verify and analyze the information received by studying the documents provided.

 

Closing of classes

- From MS to 6ème:

The closure of the class for a period of 7 days will be systematic from the third positive case identified and present in the establishment during the health period when contamination was possible. 

Students will then be placed in distance learning during this period.

 

- From 5ème to Terminale:  

From the third positive case identified and present in the establishment during the sanitary period when contamination was possible, two scenarios arise:

* students with full vaccination or having contracted Covid-19 in the last 2 months continue face-to-face lessons.

* students without full vaccination continue distance learning for 7 days.

 

The decision to close is taken when the administration, the school doctor and the embassy can analyze all this information. This can take time, and we are counting on the parents' understanding to provide the information and documents requested as soon as possible.

Regarding the current health situation, the LFC strives to favor 100% face-to-face teaching. He applies the health levels according to the development of the situation.

Let's all be careful, and let's stop the spread of the virus together!

Question:
What is the impact of Covid - 19 on the AEFE? 

In April 2021, Olivier Brochet, director of the Agency for French Education Abroad (AEFE) highlighted the following points: 

  • This year has been a test for the establishments of the AEFE network. They nevertheless managed to overcome this ordeal. There has been extraordinary work on the ground carried out by the teams with the support of the agency to help high schools not to close despite the crisis. 

 

  • We have had additional budgetary aid of 100 million euros in budget credits, as well as access to cash advances which have made it possible to support all establishments and families in difficulty, whether they are French or not. The network resisted and we even had an increase in accredited establishments. We tried to keep all the families according to the difficulties they encountered.

 

  • Our main objective is to convince families to stay in the French school system all over the world. Traditionally, those who know French education abroad stay there. It is a teaching of excellence that guarantees their children to have the best of education to then access the best of higher education in France and abroad. 

 

  • We hope to double the workforce by 2030, but obviously the health crisis forces us to review the pace. What matters is that this objective has led us to rethink many things to put us in a position to support the network in this development. 

 

  • We have several models that are thriving around the world. There is no reason why, with the increasing demography, France does not have its place. We are a real network that meets many of our expatriates abroad. We must maintain it. It is a network of influence, of “soft power”. There is nothing like reflecting the image of France through its most positive education possible.

Covid - 19 : Tenir ensemble contre le virus

Durant ces moments difficiles, nous devons tenir ensemble contre le virus.

 

Les signes les plus fréquents sont la toux et la fièvre (ou la sensation de fièvre) mais d’autres signes peuvent également être présents : perte brutale du goût ou de l’odorat, maux de tête, forte fatigue, courbatures, douleurs thoraciques, essoufflement, diarrhée... ou d’autres signes repérés par les personnes de l’entourage (confusion…).

 

Si l’un ou plusieurs de ces symptômes apparaissent, il faut appeler son médecin sans délai.

 

Au quotidien, il existe des gestes barrières simples à adopter pour se protéger et protéger les autres :

  • se laver régulièrement les mains ou utiliser une solution hydro alcoolique ;

  • tousser ou éternuer dans son coude ou dans un mouchoir à usage unique ;

  • se moucher dans un mouchoir puis le jeter ;

  • éviter de se toucher le visage ;

  • respecter une distance de 1 à 2 mètres avec les autres ;

  • saluer sans serrer la main et arrêter les embrassades ;

  • porter un masque ;

  • limiter au maximum ses contacts avec les autres (6 personnes au maximum) ;

  • aérer chaque pièce le plus souvent possible, au minimum, quelques minutes toutes les heures.

Nous invitons les familles à la plus grande vigilance sur les rassemblements festifs d’élèves durant cette année, et qui peuvent être organisés dans le cadre privé.

 

Si ces moments conviviaux, habituellement organisés en début ou en cours d’année scolaire, participent à la consolidation des liens sociaux entre élèves, il est aussi prouvé qu’ils sont des vecteurs importants de propagation de la Covid – 19.

 

Nous comptons sur l’aide de tous les parents, afin d’être vigilants et d’éviter l’apparition de foyers de contamination qui auraient des conséquences immédiates sur le fonctionnement du lycée. La situation sanitaire est sous contrôle grâce aux protocoles d’identification et de traçabilité mis en place dans l’établissement.

Sur le plan sanitaire, le LFC suit le protocole français, mais aussi en ayant toujours un regard sur le contexte local en Égypte.

Concernant la gestion des cas contaminés, selon l'administration, la première source d'alerte reste l'information qui est directement donnée par les familles sur les situations sanitaires.

 

Dès que le lycée a l'information, il commence à identifier «  la fenêtre sanitaire » qui signifie la période de présence d'un élève contaminé à l'intérieur de l'établissement (le périmètre d’investigation), puis le lycée procède à une enquête pour évaluer les risques et identifier les cas contacts. Enfin, l'administration informe les enseignants pour leur permettre de suivre à distance les élèves placés à l’isolement.

 

Lorsqu'il y a un cas de contamination dans une classe (ou un même groupe), il faut que les parents sachent que le LFC doit vérifier et analyser les informations reçues en étudiant les documents fournis.

 

La fermeture d'une classe est un raccourci pour dire que nous plaçons tous les élèves en isolement à domicile, parce qu’ils sont considérés comme étant des cas contacts « étroits » ; c’est à dire lorsqu'ils ont été en classe avec un élève contaminé.

 

Il suffit donc d'avoir un seul élève positif pour fermer la classe. L’enseignant n'est pas considéré comme cas contact étroit.

 

La décision de fermeture est prise lorsque que l'administration, le médecin scolaire et l’ambassade peuvent analyser toutes ces informations. Cela peut prendre du temps, et nous comptons sur la compréhension des parents pour fournir les informations et documents demandés dans les plus brefs délais.

Concernant la situation sanitaire actuelle, le LFC s'efforce à privilégier l’enseignement en 100% présentiel. Il applique le niveau 2 (jaune).

Soyons tous prudents, et arrêtons ensemble la propagation du virus !

Impact de la Covid - 19 sur l'AEFE 

En avril 2021, Olivier Brochet, directeur de l’Agence pour l’Enseignement Français à l’Étranger (AEFE) a souligné les points suivants : 

  • Cette année a été une épreuve pour les 540 établissements du réseau de l’AEFE. Ils ont néanmoins réussi à surmonter cette épreuve. Il y a eu un travail extraordinaire sur le terrain mené par les équipes avec le soutien de l’agence pour aider les lycées à ne pas fermer malgré la crise. 

 

  • Nous avons eu une aide budgétaire supplémentaire de 100 millions d’euros de crédits budgétaires, ainsi que des accès à des avances de trésorerie qui ont permis de soutenir tous les établissements et les familles en difficulté qu’elles soient françaises ou non. Le réseau a résisté et nous avons même eu un accroissement des établissements homologués. Nous avons essayé de garder l’ensemble des familles en fonction des difficultés qu’elles rencontraient.

 

  • Notre objectif essentiel est de convaincre les familles de rester dans le système scolaire français partout dans le monde. Traditionnellement, celles qui connaissent l’enseignement français à l’étranger y restent. C’est un enseignement d’excellence qui garantit à leurs enfants d’avoir le meilleur de l’éducation pour accéder ensuite au meilleur de l’éducation supérieure en France et à l’international. 

 

  • On espère doubler les effectifs d’ici 2030, mais évidemment la crise sanitaire nous oblige à revoir le rythme. Ce qui compte est que cet objectif nous a amené à repenser beaucoup de choses pour nous mettre en état d’accompagner le réseau dans ce développement. 

 

  • Nous avons plusieurs modèles qui prospèrent dans le monde. Il n’y a pas de raison, qu’avec la démographie qui augmente, la France n’ait pas sa place. Nous sommes un vrai réseau qui répond à beaucoup de nos expatriés à l’étranger. Nous devons le maintenir. C’est un réseau d’influence, du “soft power”. Il n’y a rien de tel que de renvoyer l’image de la France à travers son éducation la plus positive possible.